Projects: PSICOMAGIA and A Painting

I’ll share some of my projects I recently finished here.

PSICOMAGIA:

I made 2 videos of PSICOMAGIA’s live show at Tin Can Alehouse. They’ve been playing at venues around San Diego. Highly recommended to go see them live especially if you are tired of seeing wussy hipster bands. Don’t get me wrong though, I like wussy bands too, I don’t even know who exactly hipsters are, but I’m just saying these musicians are not that, whatever it really is. I got the recording of this show from Brian Ellis (who plays sax in Psicomagia) You should be able to hear the details pretty well. Use of headphones recommended to hear better.

PSICOMAGIA Live Footage #1

PSICOMAGIA Live Footage #2

http://www.facebook.com/psicomagiamusic

PSICOMAGIA is Paul Marrone (drums) Brian Ellis (sax) Tyler Daughn (keys) Trevor Mast (bass) Bernardo Nunez (poet) and Daniel Gutierrez (poet)

A PAINTING:

I finished this painting after I came back from family vacation in Hawaii.

This painting used to look like below. Can you see how much I calmed down after swimming in Hawaii??

I wrote about my vacation in Hawaii in the last blog. When I was underwater and watching fishes, sleeping on the quiet nearly empty beach, I nicely realized that my art and my thoughts and everything that I clumsily stress about don’t matter because the fishes I saw in the clear warm water didn’t give a shit. Fishes don’t give a shit, so why should I? It’s a weird logic, but it’s been working for me and making me feel very content.

The video below is a song that I like by the Strokes and Regina Spektor. And I was listening to this song in Hawaii, and the line “Always thinking about yourself” stood out somehow.  I think it is a very real mentality in urban environment. But it wasn’t in Hawaii, at least for me. It felt pretty silly to be that way when I immersed myself in the nature, especially when I was in mild panic at 80 feet deep in the ocean during scuba diving.

Always thinking about yourself. Always thinking about yourself. Always thinking about yourself.

Leave a Reply

