ジェンガ jenga

私とアーネスト・ヘミングウェイは、アパートの一室でジェンガをしていた。
Ernest Hemingway and I were playing jenga in a room in an apartment.

「私はとうとう少し解り始めてきたんだ。」私は言った。
“I’m finally starting to understand a little bit.”

「何について?」ヘミングウェイは聞いた。
“About what?” Hemingway asked.

「世の中の人達や自然や宇宙なんかは、それぞれ自分の軸を中心に回っていて、その軸は私の想像もつかないようなものだってこと。」私は言った。
“People in this world and nature and space are spinning around their own axises, and those axises are something I can’t even imagine.”

ヘミングウェイは大胆にジェンガのブロックを引き抜こうとしていた。
Hemingway was trying to make a bold move on jenga.

「それで、君はその軸を想像するのを諦めようとしてるわけ?」ヘミングウェイはジェンガを見つめたままゆっくりと言った。
“So, are you about to give up imagining what those axises are?” Hemingway, still keeping his eyes on jenga, slowly asked.

「もしかするとね。」私は不確かな答えを不確かに答えた。
“Perhaps.” I uncertainly answered an uncertain answer.

するとジェンガはグラグラし、全てを帳消しにするように崩れた。
Then jenga started wobbling and collapsed as if writing everything off.

ヘミングウェイと私は、3秒ほど崩れたジェンガ・ブロックを見つめ、ウィスキーをもう1杯ずつ注ぎあい、ジェンガを積みなおし、違うことについて話始めた。
Hemingway and I stared at collapsed jenga blocks for about 3 seconds, poured whiskey into each other’s glass, rebuilt jenga and started talking about a different thing.

時間はまだまだあるのだ。焦ることはない。
There is plenty of time. I don’t have to rush.

Leave a Reply

