思考 Thoughts

夜遅くに電話がなった。僕の部屋には時計がないので、何時かはわからなかったけど、夜遅いということだけは確かだった。

The cell phone rang at late night. There was no clock in my room so the only thing I knew for sure was it was really late.

「もしもし?」

“Hello?”

「…もしもし?」僕は目を閉じたまま電話を取り、うつ伏せで枕に顔を埋め、自分の呼吸に合わせるようにゆっくりと言葉を発した。

“…Hello?” I answered my phone with my eyes closed, buried my face in my pillows and uttered words slowly with the rhythm of my own breathing.

「ごめん寝てた?」僕のガールフレンドは申し訳なさと確信犯的な開き直りの混ざった感じの声で聞いた。

“Sorry were you asleep?” My girlfriend asked with the voice contained mixture of apology and so-what attitude.

「うん、まぁね。…どうかしたの?」僕は無意識に近い状態で答えた。

“Yeah, well…What’s going on?” I answered almost unconsciously.

「何考えてるのかな、と思って。本を読み終えて、寝ようとしてたときに、私以外の人達はどんなことを考えて生活してるのかって考え出したら、気になって眠れなくて、ついつい電話しちゃったの。」

“Wondered what you were thinking. Finished reading a book and I was about to go to bed, but I started wondering what other people were thinking all the time, and then I couldn’t sleep. And I couldn’t help calling you.”

「…僕を選んでくれて光栄だよ。…けど急に言われるとな。寝る前は君のことを考えたよ。」

“…I’m honored that you chose me. …But this is kind of a sudden. I thought of you before I went to sleep.”

「私以外のことについて何か考えた?」

“Did you think of something else other than me?”

彼女はスズメの涙ほども照れずに素早く質問した。この時間帯に人を起こしておいて、どうやら彼女は頭を使う会話を要求しているようだ、と僕は感じとった。

“She didn’t feel flattered at all, not even amount of a tear of a sparrow, and swiftly asked the next question. I came to notice that apparently she was demanding me to engage my brain to the conversation regardless to this late night time.

「…寝る前に君に言われた通り水の音を聞きながらヨガをやって、頭を空っぽにしたから、あまり思い出せないな。」

“…I can’t remember. I emptied my head by doing yoga while listening to the sound of water as you told me to.”

僕は本当はビールを飲んでいたんだけど、似たようなことだと思うのでそう言った。

I actually was drinking beer, but I said so because I thought there wasn’t that much of difference there.

「私、眠る前とか、お酒に酔ってるときに感じたり考たりすることって、けっこう大事なことだと思うの。だからわざわざこんな時間に電話したの。だって、人間は思考を軸として行動するでしょ?だから思考って見えないけど、とても重要だし、思考は時間と共にゆっくり形になっていくものだと思うの。」

“I think what we think and feel when we are drunk and falling asleep is pretty important. That’s why I called you this late. Thoughts are the axis people act based on, right? That’s why I think thoughts are very important even though they’re invisible, and I think thoughts slowly shape the reality.”

彼女はいろんな説を作りだしては、僕に話すのが好きだった。

She liked making up various theories and telling me about those.

「…つまり、僕がベーグルを朝ごはんに食べたいと思ってたら、その思考は明日の朝に現実になる可能性が高いってこと?」

“…So, there is a high possibility that I will have a bagel for tomorrow’s breakfast, if I have a thought about a bagel right now?”

「うん。要はそういうこと。さすが私のボーイフレンド、飲み込みが早いね。」

“Yeah. That’s the point. That’s my boyfriend, you are quick to grasp it.”

彼女は嬉しそうに言った。

She said delightedly.

「で、もし集合意識的なものが働いて、みんなが『資本主義だって、宗教みたいなもんじゃないか』って考え出したら、どんな世界になるのかな、と思って。これだけ実際的な現実がメディアに作り上げられた壁を突き破ってあからさまに見えるようになった時代だから、そういう事態ってありえるんじゃないかと思うの。」

“And I wondered what the world was going to be like if something like collective consciousness worked, and every one started thinking that capitalism was kind of like a religion. I thought that kind of situation could possibly happen because now we could see so much of the actual savvy reality through the broken wall made up by media.”

彼女は本題を話し始めた。

She started talking about the main subject.

「資本主義はなかなか手強いけどね。」

“Capitalism is a formidable opponent though.”

僕は正直な感想を言った。

I said my honest impression.

「…ところで今、玄関にいるんだけど、出てきてくれる?」

“…By the way, I’m at the door. Could you come out?”

さすが僕のガールフレンドだ。僕は嬉しくなった。

That’s my girlfriend. I felt delighted.

僕は柔らかい布団の中から這い出して、ドアを開けて彼女を迎え入れ、親しみを込めてハグをして、僕の体温でまだ温かい毛布の中に彼女と2人で潜り込んだ。僕のガールフレンドは嬉しそうに僕の目を見つめた。僕は彼女にキスをし、彼女はいたずらっぽく笑った。資本主義もベーグルも、どうだっていいじゃないか。僕はそう思いながら彼女を抱き、ゆっくりとまどろみの中へ戻っていった。

I crawled out from my soft blanket, opened the door, invited her, sincerely hugged her, and we went back inside the blanket which was warmed up by my body temperature. My girlfriend happily looked into my eyes. I kissed her, and she giggled mischievously. I don’t give a shit about capitalism and bagels, I thought. I held her and slowly went back into the slumber.

Leave a Reply

